Wednesday, April 8, 2009

AUS Election Results

The AUS Elections happened quite recently, and the results are posted below. I'm a little bit saddened, in general, by elections of both the AUS and SUS- a fair number of the positions this year were uncontested or were yes/no votes. In fact, the UBC Debate Society's election was more contested than either election (only 2 yes/no votes), just to use an example that I'm familiar with. I don't know much about the candidates in this race, but I do recognize some of the names of the AMS reps- Matt Naylor will be continuing on in student politics, and I'm pleased to see Mike Silley there as well. Kristian Arciaga will be taking on the VP Fin job, which he should also be fantastic for given his enthusiasm about student governance this year. I'd just like to see more names and fewer yes/no votes next year!

Yes 157
No 224

President (1)
Guillaume Houle 150
Ryan Trasolini 147

VP Finance (1)
Kristian Arciaga
Yes 232
No 47

VP Internal (1)
Tracy Leung
Yes 199
No 24

VP External (1)
Kyle Warwick
Yes 194
No 26

VP Academic (1)
Regina Tay
Yes 187
No 15

VP Administration (1)
Cheryl Kornder
Yes 196
No 19

Social Coordinator (1)

Promotions Coordinator (1)
Katie Fedosenko
Yes 175
No 17

Student Services Coordinator (1)
Laura Manyari
Yes 182
No 21

MASS Coordinator (1)
Alina Kwan
Yes 179
No 24

AMS Representatives (5)
Kyle Warwick 182
Mike Silley 152
Matthew Naylor 141
Carolee Changfoot 137
Jeremy McElroy 132
Jeremy Wood 126

General Officers (2)
Sarah Bihis
Yes 178
No 40

Kelsi Biring
Yes 187
No 32

Social Officer (1)
Richa Sharma
Yes 169
No 22

Promotions Officer (1)

Student Services Officer (1)
Judy Yuen
Yes 173
No 19

MASS Officer (1)
Pelican Mann
Yes 197
No 40